Aquaculture Stewardship Council (ASC)

ASC standards set strict requirements for responsible farming, encouraging seafood producers to minimise environmental and social impacts of aquaculture.

The scheme currently covers 17 species groups plus a joint ASC-MSC standard for seaweed.

Building Consumer Trust

Fish farms that meet ASC’s standards gain the right to sell their products bearing the ASC logo. This gives farms a public endorsement of their responsible practices, and gives consumers the reassurance that they are making an ethical purchase.

Environmental and Social Focus

Farms that meet the ASC standards deliver real benefits: a cleaner seabed, cleaner water and healthier fish as well as preserving local biodiversity and supporting their community.

What Is It?

ASC standards for responsible aquaculture address the key environmental impacts of farming, set requirements for workers’ rights and protect communities surrounding certified farms.

Through Chain of Custody (CoC) certification, ASC labelled seafood can be traced back through every step of the supply chain to an ASC certified farm.
Preservation of Environment

Farms must show that they actively minimise their impact on the surrounding natural environment. This extends to careful management of the fish health and resources.

Social Responsibility

Farms must be a good and conscientious neighbour; that means operating their farm in a socially responsible manner, caring for their employees and working with the local community.

Credible, Inclusive & Transparent

The ASC standards were developed in line with the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) guidelines and ISEAL’s (International Social and Environmental Accreditation and Labelling) Codes of Good Practice. All ASC standards are also managed in compliance with the ISEAL Standard Setting Procedure


Through Chain of Custody (CoC) certification ASC labelled seafood can be traced back through every step of the supply chain to a well-managed farm that meets the strict requirements of the ASC standards.

Species Covered

Currently ASC standards cover 17 species groups [abalone; bivalves (clams, mussels, oyster, scallop); flatfish; freshwater trout; pangasius; salmon; seabass, seabream, meagre; seriola and cobia; shrimp; tilapia; tropical marine finfish]. There is also a joint ASC-MSC standard for seaweed.

Contact Us

Speak to an expert and find out more about how SAI Global Assurance can help you on your way to business excellence.